Your Feedback Matters


We hope you are enjoying The Foundation Stone™.
Please take a few moments to complete the survey
so that we can continue to improve our website.
Thank you for your time and support.

Take this survey



Your Feedback Matters


Please reconsider your decision.
A few minutes of your time will be
a great help and will allow us to make
The Foundation Stone™ even better.

Thank You!

Take this survey


Exclusively designed for The Foundation Stone Hand Crafted Metal Lace Thank You Machine


To order yours please contact

michal@thefoundationstone.org

Nouvelles
prev
next
Mishlei: The Wisdom of Awe Imprimer Envoyer

Proverbs Salomon commence maintenant le texte même des Proverbes: «La crainte de Dieu est le commencement de la science; les insensés méprisent la sagesse et la discipline." (Proverbes 1:7) Salomon à la fois commence

Proverbes et se termine avec crainte, "Une femme qui est dans la crainte de Dieu soit loué," (31:30) pour nous enseigner que l'essence des Proverbes est l'étude de la crainte que la sagesse. (Likutei Hagra)

Le début de la connaissance », ou« Reishit, "est un terme utilisé systématiquement pour décrire l'objet de quelque chose. (Chemdah Genuzah) Le but de terreur est la connaissance. Il n'ya pas de connaissance ou de la sagesse, sans la crainte de Dieu.

Cela fait écho aux Ramchal, qui a écrit: Le sage a dit à la Chassid, "Il ne faut pas comprendre beaucoup de comprendre l'un doit avoir une grande crainte de Dieu à cause de ses exaltedness grand. Je crois avec certitude qu'il n'y a pas de place pour des investigations beaucoup de discernement dans ces questions, car elles sont simples et claires. "

Le Chassid répondu: «Je vois les mots du verset d'enseignement à l'opposé de cette opinion de la vôtre. Car il est dit: «La crainte de Dieu seul," poule ", est la sagesse." (Job 28:28) Nos Rabbins a pris «poule» pour signifier «un», et ils ont dit, 'à l'poule grec' », on entend un. (Shabbat 31b) Ainsi, le verset nous apprend deux choses. Tout d'abord, que la crainte de Dieu est la sagesse, et, deuxièmement, qu'il est la branche la plus importante de la sagesse.

"Maintenant, si la crainte de Dieu ne comportait pas la réflexion et l'intelligence, l'Écriture ne l'ont appelée la sagesse, mais plutôt la droiture ou de rectitude morale. Il ne devrait pas, cependant, l'ont appelée la sagesse, et certainement pas affirmé qu'il ne mérite seule cette désignation. »(Messilat Yesharim / Dialogue Version)

Nous sommes familiers avec la mitsva de crainte, mais nous supposons souvent, comme le sage qui précède, que nous comprenons ce que la crainte est et ce que demande le Mitzvah. Le Gra et le Ramchal avant lui, mis l'accent sur le Livre des Proverbes que les enseignements en respect de sa définition, les exigences, et application à absolument tout ce que nous faisons. Tout ce qui Shlomo HaMelech a écrit jusqu'à présent sur la sagesse, c'est seulement pour nous permettre de comprendre ce que la crainte est et comment y parvenir.

«Je crains que le péché", est insuffisante. Je dois avoir une telle crainte du péché que je vais étudier en permanence afin d'éviter de pécher. (Gra)

«Je suis dans la crainte de Dieu», n'est pas suffisant. Le respect doit conduire à l'attraction et l'attachement qui est si intense que tout ce que je veux, c'est d'en apprendre davantage au sujet de Dieu et sa volonté.

Il n'existe pas d'étude de la Torah, sans crainte que Shlomo va nous enseigner.

Share/Save/Bookmark
 
Joomla 1.5 Templates by JoomlaShine.com

Your Feedback Matters


We hope you are enjoying The Foundation Stone™.
Please take a few moments to complete the survey
so that we can continue to improve our website.
Thank you for your time and support.

Take this survey



Your Feedback Matters


Please reconsider your decision.
A few minutes of your time will be
a great help and will allow us to make
The Foundation Stone™ even better.

Thank You!

Take this survey


Exclusively designed for The Foundation Stone Hand Crafted Metal Lace Thank You Machine


To order yours please contact

michal@thefoundationstone.org

prev
next
See all
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Latest
prev
next
Latest
prev
next
Latest
prev
next
Latest
prev
next
Latest
prev
next
Mishlei: The Wisdom of Awe Print E-mail

ProverbsSolomon now begins the actual text of Proverbs: “The fear of God is the beginning of knowledge; foolish ones scorn wisdom and discipline.” (Proverbs 1:7) Solomon both begins

and ends Proverbs with awe, “A woman who is in awe of God will be praised,” (31:30) to teach us that the essence of Proverbs is the study of awe as wisdom. (Likutei HaGra)

The beginning of knowledge,” or, “Reishit,” is a term consistently used to describe the purpose of something. (Chemdah Genuzah) The purpose of awe is knowledge. There is no knowledge or wisdom without awe of God.

This echoes the Ramchal, who wrote: The Wise Man said to the Chassid, “It does not take very much understanding to comprehend the one must greatly fear God on account of His great exaltedness. I believe with certainty that there is no room for much investigation or discernment in these matters, for they are simple and clear.”

The Chassid responded, “I see the words of the verse teaching the very opposite of this opinion of yours. For it is stated, ‘The fear of God alone, “hen,” is wisdom.’ (Job 28:28) Our Rabbis took ‘hen’ to mean ‘one,’ and they said, ‘for in Greek ‘hen’ means one. (Shabbat 31b) Thus, the verse teaches us two things. First, that fear of God is wisdom, and second, that it is the most significant branch of wisdom.

“Now if fearing God did not entail reflection and intellection, Scripture would not have called it wisdom, but rather uprightness or moral rectitude. It should not, however, have called it wisdom, and certainly not claimed that it alone deserves that designation.” (Mesillat Yesharim/ Dialogue Version)

We are familiar with the Mitzvah of awe, yet we often assume, as the wise man above, that we understand what awe is and what the Mitzvah demands. The Gra and the Ramchal before him, focused on the Book of Proverbs as lessons in awe; its definition, requirements, and application to absolutely everything we do. Everything that Shlomo HaMelech has written so far about wisdom is only to allow us to understand what awe is and how to achieve it.

“I fear sin,” is insufficient. I must have such fear of sin that I will constantly study in order to avoid sinning. (Gra)

“I am in awe of god,” is not enough. The awe must lead to attraction and attachment that are so intense that all I want is to learn more about God and His Will.

There is no Torah study without the awe that Shlomo will teach us.

Share/Save/Bookmark
 
Joomla 1.5 Templates by JoomlaShine.com